Prestigious honour for UCLan Board member and proud Prestonian 

Posted on - 8th January, 2020 - 12:00pm | Author - | Posted in - People, Preston News, UCLan, University campus
Dame Sue Ion speaking at the opening of the EIC. Pic: University of Central Lancashire
Dame Sue Ion speaking at the opening of the EIC Pic: University of Central Lancashire

A member of the University of Central Lancashire’s Board of Governors has joined the list of esteemed physicists to have received the highest honour that the Institute of Physics (IOP) can bestow.


Dame Sue Ion has been conferred with an Honorary Fellowship by the IOP for her internationally recognised expertise in energy and energy policy and tireless advocacy of the safe and efficient use of nuclear power for a better world.

Sue joins the list of Honorary Fellows that includes Professor Stephen Hawking, Professor Peter Higgs and Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell.

Prestonian Sue was educated at Penwortham Girls Grammar School and now lives in Leyland.

In addition to her role on the UCLan Board, Sue is a British engineer and an expert advisor on the nuclear power industry. She represents the UK on the world stage, as well as helping to shape long-term energy strategy at home.

Read more: Preston professor wins international award for work on cystic fibrosis

She began her career at British Nuclear Fuels Ltd in 1979, acting as Chief Technology Director from 1992 until 2006, chaired the EU Euratom Science and Technology Committee since 2010 and represents the UK on a number of international committees, as an expert on nuclear fuel manufacture and technology.

An expert on fuel recycling and on fourth generation reactors, which promise to be both safer and more efficient, Sue is the only non-US member of the US Department of Energy’s Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee on which she has served since 2005.

Dame Sue Ion
Dame Sue Ion at the Royal Society admissions day in London in 2016 Pic: The Royal Society

In 2003, Sue was awarded an OBE for services to the nuclear industry, and in 2010 was made a Dame in recognition of her tremendous contribution to science and engineering.

Commenting on the IOP award Dame Sue Ion said: “When I review the list of those holding Honorary Fellowships from the Institute of Physics, all luminaries in their respective fields, I am truly humbled to be counted in their number.” 

Read more: Preston university academics recognised for outstanding teaching

Congratulating this year’s new Honorary Fellows, which also included Professor Jim Al-Khalili, Professor Ian Munro and last year’s Nobel Laureate, Professor Donna Strickland, Institute of Physics President, Dame Julia Higgins, said: “Our Honorary Fellows represent an extraordinary group of physicists, to whom we all owe an enormous debt of gratitude.

“Each and every one of them has made a positive difference to our understanding of physics, enhanced our everyday lives through research and become a beacon for the next generation of physicists.

“On behalf of the IOP, I warmly congratulate all of them.”

What do you think of Dame Sue Ion’s achievements? Let us know in the comments.

Preston in pictures Keep the Pavement DryLily in full bloomStreetSessions HouseThe old & the restoredEmpty buildingThe BluebellHistorical building View more Advertisement Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's weekly newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday rounding up our best content from the last week and a look ahead to what's happening.

Advertisement News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Advertisement Categories

Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.