General election 2019 results for Preston

Posted on - 13th December, 2019 - 2:47am | Author - | Posted in - Politics, Preston News

Preston has elected its new MP and it is Mark Hendrick.


Labour hold the seat and have a majority of 12,146 votes compared to 12,067 in the 2017 general election.

Preston Weekender advert

Mark Hendrick has been the city’s MP since 2000.

The full results from the Preston count are below:

Neil Darby – Liberal Democrats – 1,737 votes
Mark Hendrick – Labour – 20,870 votes
Michele Dawn Scott – Conservatives – 8,724 votes
Rob Sheratt – Brexit Party – 1,799 votes
Michael John Welton – The Green Party – 660 votes


Turnout in the general election in Preston was 56.8 per cent, down from 61.7 per cent in 2017. The result came through around 2.45am on Friday (13 December).

You can replay a live video of the result via our Facebook page.

Read more:

Live updates from Preston for the general election

Full results for Fylde

Full results for South Ribble

caritas fostering advert
Preston in pictures Preston Street photographyMother & LambPreston Street photographyPreston Street photographyCosta Coffee in the Mall, PrestonViltrox Test 3Mother & LambPreston Street photography View more Advertisement Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's email newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday and Wednesday rounding up our top stories and more.

Advertisement News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

The Preston Guide

Discover local businesses and services near you.

Advertisement Categories

Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Blog Preston email updates

Receive our digest of the biggest and best stories every Sunday to your email inbox

We respect your privacy and you can unsubscribe at any time from our emails