Former councillors to become Honorary Aldermen of Preston

Posted on - 26th August, 2018 - 12:00pm | Author - | Posted in - Preston Council, Preston News
Cllr John Collins takes over from cllr McManus
Former councillors John Collins and Margaret McManus, who both served as Mayors

Four former Preston councillors are to given the honour of becoming Aldermen of the city.


Preston City Council bestowed the title of Honorary Alderman on ex-councillors John Collins, Christine Abram, Kathleen Roberta (Bobby) Cartwright and Margaret McManus.

An extraordinary council meeting will be called in the coming weeks to formally give the honour to each of the former politicians.

They are being recognised for their ‘length service on the council and the dedication and commitment they brought to the role of councillor’.

Read more: Preston parade route confirmed for the Lancashire Encounter

Alderman is a ceremonial title and maintains no ability to vote or direct the council in the future.

They do however attend civic events and also play a key role in Guild years.

Preston in pictures Covered Market, PrestonPreston Court BuildingLawson Street6201 Princess Elizabeth57313 becomes the main engine6201 pulls into Preston Station for an engine changePreston CenotaphColourful & Shops On Lancaster Road a View more Advertisement Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's weekly newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday rounding up our best content from the last week and a look ahead to what's happening.

Advertisement News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Advertisement Categories

Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.