Preston local elections 2018: full candidate list confirmed

Posted on - 16th April, 2018 - 12:00pm | Author - | Posted in - Politics, Preston Council, Preston News
Election counters awaiting starters orders in Preston
Election counters awaiting starters orders in Preston

Preston’s final elections under the current ward boundaries take place in May.

Confirmation on who wants your vote in each ward has been given as 20 seats are in play across the city.

The areas of the city, called wards, which are drawn up as political boundaries are being re-drawn and in 2019 an ‘all-out’ election is being held for this new political geography.

Ahead of this the 2018 election is the last with the current political boundaries.

Read more: Live updates and results from Preston local elections 2018

Here’s who is standing in each ward:

John William Browne – Labour
Derek Richard Killeen – UKIP
Bowen Perryman – Conservatives

Claire Craven – Liberal Democrats
Mehfuz Dasu Patel – Conservatives
Joshua Mascord – Labour

Freddie Bailey – Labour
Paul Balshaw – Conservatives
Michael Turner – Liberal Democrats

Luke Bosman – Liberal Democrats
Thomas Ewan Costello – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
Munirah Mehboob Dasu Patel – Conservatives
Whitney Samantha Hawkins – Labour

Anna Hindle – Labour
Hans Voges – Liberal Democrats
Paul Whalley – Conservatives

Two councillors are to be elected to this ward following Damien Moore’s decision to stand down after being elected as Southport’s MP in the 2017 general election
Ian Kenneth Donnell – Conservatives
Iain Michael Hams – Labour
Robert Jolliffe – Conservatives
Margaret Elizabeth Lodge – Liberal Democrats
Deborah Jane Shannon – Liberal Democrats
Alan Winston Woods – Labour

Christopher Berry – Labour
Tim Cox – Conservatives
Neil Darby – Liberal Democrats
Samuel Thomas Furr – UKIP

Beth Helen Balshaw – Conservatives
Ed Craven – Liberal Democrats
Phil Crowe – Labour
Mark Bernard Kingsley – UKIP

Alan Dent – Labour
Mark Jewell – Liberal Democrats
Martin McKeever – Conservatives

Moor Park
Simon Crowe – Conservatives
Nweeda Khan – Labour

Preston Rural North
Fiona Duke – Liberal Democrats
Gillian Mascord – Labour
Sue Whittam – Conservatives

Anthony James Helps – UKIP
Rob Jones – Conservatives
Jonathan Harish Chandra Saksena – Labour

Peter Kelly – Labour
Connor Graham Rumble – Conservatives

Sharoe Green
Simon Ian Fullalove – Labour
Rebecca Potter – Liberal Democrats
Keith Sedgewick – Conservatives

St George’s
James Thomas Hull – Labour
Danielle Louise Mayor – Conservatives

St Matthew’s
Mike Balshaw – Conservatives
Jono Grisdale – Labour

Town Centre
Salim Desai – Labour
Yusuf Hasan Mitha – Conservatives

Jonty Campbell – Conservatives
Carol Henshaw – Labour
Simon Philip Platt – UKIP
Michael Yates – Liberal Democrats

Carl Crompton – Labour
Luke Walmsley – Conservatives

Are there any councillors who are standing down?

A number of councillors have chosen not to stand again in the upcoming elections, they are:

– Councillor Stephen Mullen, Cadley, Liberal Democrats
– Councillor Bobby Cartwright, College, Conservatives
– Councillor Zafar Coupland, Fishwick, Labour
– Councillor Charlotte Leach, Garrison, Conservatives
– Councillor David Hammond, Greyfriars, Conservatives
– Councillor Damien Moore, Greyfriars, Conservatives
– Councillor Christine Abram, Lea, Conservatives
– Councillor John Collins, Moor Park, Labour
– Councillor Margaret McManus, Sharoe Green, Conservatives
– Councillor Roy Leeming, St Matthews, Labour
– Councillor Peter Rankin, Tulketh, Labour

When is the local election?

Voting takes place from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 3 May at polling stations across the city.

Votes will be counted overnight on Thursday 3 May and results announced into the early hours of Friday 4 May. Of course, Blog Preston will be there bringing you all the action from the election count at the Guild Hall.

How can I vote?

You must register to vote by Tuesday 17 April, visit the register to vote section of the council website.

For a postal vote you need to apply by 5pm on Wednesday 18 April, here’s details on how to apply.

For a proxy vote (someone voting on your behalf) the deadline is 5pm on Tuesday 24 April, and here’s how to apply.

Who is in control of the council now?

Preston is a Labour-controlled council, with 33 seats, the Tories have 19 and the Lib Dems have five.

Preston in pictures Green with a chance of gingerHarris OrphanageLittle Sisters Of The PoorLittle Sisters Of The PoorChurch - Church of St Mary, Penwortham 240323 [Lych Gate]Church - Church of St Mary, Penwortham 240323 [Cross]Church - Church of St Mary, Penwortham 240323 [rear]Street Furniture - Grid [Stanton & Staveley] 240323 Penwortham View more
Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's email newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday and Wednesday rounding up our top stories and more.

News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

The Preston Guide

Discover local businesses and services near you.


Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Blog Preston email updates

Receive our digest of the biggest and best stories every Sunday to your email inbox

We respect your privacy and you can unsubscribe at any time from our emails