General election 2017 results in Wyre and Preston North

Posted on - 9th June, 2017 - 3:00am | Author - | Posted in - Fulwood, Politics, Preston News
Ben Wallace
Ben Wallace

Wyre and Preston North has elected its new MP and it is Ben Wallace.


Conservatives hold the seat and have a majority of 14,151 votes from the 2015 election.

Ben Wallace has been the area’s MP since 2010 when it was created.

Wallace has been tipped for a cabinet position if the Conservatives regain power – although that now looks up in the air.

Michelle Heaton-Bentley – Labour – 18,438 votes
Ruth Norbury – Green Party – 973 votes
John James Potter – Liberal Democrats – 2,551 votes
Ben Wallace – Conservatives – 30,684 votes

Read more: Live updates and reaction from the General Election 2017

Turnout in the general election was 72.97 per cent.

Preston in pictures The Station, Preston. 1539Adelphi quarter , preston , 23.06.2022St Walburge's Church, preston 23.06.2022Former Tithebarn pub and Preston Bus StationHarris Museum and Art GalleryRed telephone boxesRed telephone box on Market StreetPreston 2022 View more Advertisement Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's weekly newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday rounding up our best content from the last week and a look ahead to what's happening.

Advertisement News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Advertisement Categories

Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.