Menu

Local teacher launching book to rival 50 Shades of Grey

Posted on - 31st May, 2015 - 8:00am | Author - | Posted in - Business, Events, People, Things To Do, UCLan, Uncategorized
Renee Knight, one of four author events to be hosted by Waterstones in coming weeks

Renee Knight, one of four author events to be hosted by Waterstones in coming weeks

A local English teacher is launching the first of a series of books, set to rival 50 Shades of Grey.

Advertisement

Sophie Jackson, from Chorley, teaches in Preston has already received a lot of attention for her novel, A Pound of Flesh. The romance fiction has gained 4.5 million hits online and went for a six-figure sum at an auction by Headline Publishing Group.

Sophie will be holding a book signing at Waterstones in Preston City Centre on June 13 from 1pm.

Waterstones is hosting a series of author events over the next few weeks, and here is a run-down of what you need to know.

Joseph Delaney June 6th from 1pm at Waterstones

Joseph Delaney is launching his new book, Arena 13 with a signing in the Preston store next week. The book is aimed at young adults and is aimed at fans of the Hunger Games and The Maze Runner. Delaney is already the author of best-selling series, Spooks. The event is free to attend but it is advised to get there early to avoid disappointment.

Renee Knight June 9th from 7pm at Waterstones

Following a successful first book, Disclaimer, Renee Knight will be joined by publicist Alison Barrow and guests in a question and answer session at the Fishergate store. The pair will first hold a talk about what it’s like to be an author, give an insight into the publishing industry before talking to budding authors about tips on getting published. Renee will also be signing copies of her crime thriller book which has been a hit in the charts. The event costs £3 and includes a complimentary glass of wine on entry as well as £3 off the RRP of Disclaimer. This book is described as being one for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Joe Abercrombie July 14th from 6pm at UCLan

Fantasy author Joe Abercrombie is coming to Foster Building on Corporation Street, on UCLan’s Preston campus for an evening of talks, questions and book signings. His new book, Half a War, is the final in the Shattered Sea trilogy. Tickets cost £5, or £3 with a Waterstones loyalty card.

 

All tickets can be bought in advance by visiting the Waterstones Preston store on Fishergate, or by calling 01772 555766.

 

Share
Preston in pictures Scenic canal at PrestonFootbridge at Preston DocksVintage train at Preston DocksBlackpool boundGolden Preston DocksLights in the Preston skyAutumn in Ashton ParkApocalyptic View more Advertisement Subscribe to the newsletter

Sign up below to receive Blog Preston's weekly newsletter. It wings its way into inboxes every Sunday rounding up our best content from the last week and a look ahead to what's happening.

Advertisement News by location

Find news by location, select an area of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.

Advertisement Categories

Find news by category, select an category of your choice to be kept up to date with the latest goings on.